UP Cinema names Piling Obrang Vidyo 18 Winners


Piling Obrang Vidyo (POV) is an annual film festival hosted by UP Cinema, an organization based at the University of the Philippines Diliman. The festival has been running since 2004, however, due to the pandemic, it wasn't able to hold a call for entry last year in 2021. Instead, it showcased previous POV finalists with the theme BAL1K7ANAW—which means to remember. 

In its 18th year and after its two year-hiatus, POV came back as an intercollegiate film competition with its alternative core embracing the theme #SaLansangan, a space that everyone has missed and where the youth normally creates narratives special to Filipinos. To accommodate the constant evolution of the cinematic medium, the selection committee has accepted film categories not strictly limited to narrative, documentary, or experimental.

Among the 70 submissions of different student filmmakers from at least 20 different colleges and universities across the country, fifteen short films were carefully selected. These finalists films came from Cebu Institute of Technology-University (CIT), De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde (DLS-CSB), Far Eastern University (FEU), Malayan Colleges Laguna (MCL), Mapua University (Mapua), University of the Philippines Diliman (UPD), University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), and University of Santo Tomas (UST). 

Given the present challenge of the COVID-19, POV XVIIIl was held online which was made possible by one of its co-presenters MOOV PH Cinema of Cinema Centenario. The films were streamed for free from March 12 to 18 and consequently extended until March 20. The festival also hosted a filmmaker’s talkback, via Twitter Spaces, for an open discussion about their respective works. The Festival Week ended with its Awards Night hosted by Ivan Gentolizo and Waxee Galang through a Live Broadcast on Facebook with performances of Alyssa Carreon and Joseph Arizapa; a virtual After Party was held on the Festival’s Discord as part of the POV’s tradition to gather the organization’s members, filmmakers, and audiences. 

This year’s Best Film award was given to an animated film titled “Rambutan” by Shayla Claire Paredes of Mapua. “Pig’s Game” by CM Bautista (DLS-CSB) won the Jury Prize, Best Screenplay Award, and Best Performance award—the latter being tied with “Nang Maglublob Ako sa Isang Mangkok ng Liwanag” by Kukay Zinampan (UPD) which also won Best Direction and Best Production Design. “Salamin” by David Collado (FEU) won two awards: Best Sound Design and Best Editing. Francis Tavas (FEU) won Best Cinematography for their film “Waltz of Qualm”. Best Music/Original Score was given to “Tara, Laro Tayo!” by Ben de Lima and Patrick Demition (UST). The Cinemaster’s Choice Award was given to Gabriel Carmelo’s “Mga Salitang Inanod“ (UPLB). While the film “Taya“ by Xyron Parapara (DLS-CSB) has won the viewers’ hearts.

As award prizes, the Best Film receives Php 7,000 and a trophy; the Jury Prize Php 4,000 and a trophy. A surprise award with the namesake of the Festival’s theme, Lansangan, is granted to “An Eidolon Named Night” by Hans Piozon (UPD) with Php 4,000 and a trophy as well. Certificates are given to the other winning films.


Best Film — “Rambutan” by Shayla Claire Paredes, Mapua University

Jury Prize — “Pig’s Game” by CM Bautista, DLS-CSB

Best Direction — “Nang Maglublob Ako sa Isang Mangkok ng Liwanag” by Kukay Zinampan, UPD

Best Production Design — “Nang Maglublob Ako sa Isang Mangkok ng Liwanag” by Kukay Zinampan, UPD

Best Performance —  “Nang Maglublob Ako sa Isang Mangkok ng Liwanag” by Kukay Zinampan, UPD and “Pig’s Game” by CM Bautista, DLS-CSB

Best Screenplay — “Pig’s Game” by CM Bautista, DLS-CSB

Best Cinematography — “Waltz of Qualm” by Francis Tavas, FEU

Best Sound Design — “Salamin” by David Collado,  DLS-CSB

Best Editing — “Salamin” by David Collado,  DLS-CSB

Best Music/Original Score — “Tara, Laro Tayo!” by Ben de Lima and Patrick Demition, UST

Cinemaster’s Choice — “Mga Salitang Inanod” by Gabriel Carmelo, UPLB

Viewer’s Choice — “Taya” by Xyron Parapara, DLS-CSB

Lansangan Award —  “An Eidolon Named Night” by Hans Piozon, UPD

POV XVIII Jury includes Carla Pulido Ocampo, director of “Walang Rape sa Bontok” and “Tokwifi”; Ligaya Villablanca, former president of CINEMATA; Therese Malvar, known for her performance in “Ang Huling Cha-Cha ni Anita” after winning Best Actress at the CineFilipino Film Festival; and Jason Tan Liwag, the first Filipino film critic member of FIPRESCI, a federation of international film critics.

This organization maintains its advocacy to uplift the art of short filmmaking by providing a platform for student digital filmmakers. This has been possible with the help of its co-presenters: MOOV PH Cinema of Cinema Centenario, UP Diliman OICA, and Witty Will Save The World, Co., and major sponsors: Bellfrei Spa, Gardenia, Project 8 corner San Joaquin Projects, and TBA Studios.

POV has continued to partner with related institutions and organizations: Active Vista, Dakila, FEU Film Society, Mapua.Move, PLM Independent Film and Arts, Sinepanghalina, and UP Cebu Tug-Ani served as its major partners; Ateneo Film Society, Benildean Film Works, Thomasian Film Society, UP CAL - Freshie, Shiftee, and Transferee Council (UP CAL FSTC), UP CMC - Freshie, Shiftee, and Transferee Council (UP CMC FSTC) as its minor partners; Cinema ‘76 Cafe, Cinema ‘76 Film Society, Mapúa University Senior High School Student Council (Mapúa SHSSC), UP Diliman - University Freshie Council (UPD UFC), and UP School of Economics Student Council (UP SESC) as its publicity partners; Adobo Magazine, Archers Network, Asian Film Festivals, Benildean Press Corps, BLOG-PH.COM, Klik Media Group, Radyo Katipunan (New Wave), Sine Liwanag, and UPD Kalasag as its media partners.

UP Cinema and the POV team hope for a face-to-face festival next year to relive the experiences that the current set-up could only try to achieve. The organization promises to continue providing space for the youth as it takes the film experience across the screen.

For future updates, visit Piling Obrang Vidyo’s official Facebook page or follow them on Twitter and Instagram (@UPCinemaPOV).

UP Cinema is a student film organization based in the College of Mass Communication of the University of the Philippines Diliman that promotes progressive and alternative cinematic practices in various film disciplines such as filmmaking, film appreciation, and film criticism.





JL Santiago Aquino

A millennial lifestyle blogger from Caloocan City who adores trying new things. ✨ Email: blog.ph7@gmail.com. Follow @JayL_Aquino on Instagram, Twitter, TikTok & Facebook.

No comments:

Post a Comment